General presentation

The International Colloquium on thuriferous juniper, are in its fifth edition, will be held in Marrakesh in 2014, after those of Marignac (France, 1997), Marrakesh (Morocco, 2001), Soria (Spain, 2006) and Mont-Dauphin and Saint-Crépin (France, 2011). The regular meetings of this colloquium mobilizes each time a large community of researchers and international experts devoted to this endemic tree species of the western part of the Mediterranean basin. The approached aspects are generally related to its ecology, management and prospects for conservation and its sustainable development.

img-presentation

If this relic species shows a good dynamics concerning its natural regeneration and its growth in Spain and France, it is not unfortunately the case in Morocco and Algeria where this tree is considered as an endangered and vulnerable species, in regression, which could become rare on short-term.

For this fifth edition of the International Colloquium on the thuriferous juniper, the Ecology and Environment Laboratory (L2E), Faculty of Sciences Semlalia Marrakesh (Cadi Ayyad University), is associated with the Laboratory Ecology and Environment (L2E) of the Faculty of Sciences – Ben Msik (Hassan II University, Mohammedia – Casablanca), and the Regional Forest Direction of the High Atlas Marrakesh (High Commissariat of Water, Forests and the Fight against desertification (HCEFLD). The organizing committee proposes to develop themes on the thuriferous juniper and other Mediterranean Cupressaceae. For this edition, besides the traditional aspects developed around ecology and biodiversity, ecophysiological and dynamic of peuplments of junipers, a special attention will be reserved to aspects of uses and ecosystemics services of juniper peuplments in the Mediterranean area and the presence of several threatened species in the Cupressaceae ecosystems, requiring special and adapted conservation measures.

Mediterranean Cupressaceae is known by their great adaptation to extreme environmental conditions once characterized by pejorations order climatic and soil. It is important to have a view on the state of knowledge on these issues, resulting to a great diversity of habitats. The Cupressaceae form a lot of peuplments, alone or in combination with other traditional Mediterranean trees, those peuplments are characterized by pre-forestal to pre-steppic structures, and also steppic structures with. They also cover large areas from the sea on the coast to very high altitudes in the Atlas Mountains of North Africa.

The Cupressaceae are shaped very well, man has made species and spaces dedicated to the production of goods and services déterminanet in his life, especially in mountain areas (timber and fuelwood, fodder for animals breeding, …). The diversity of uses and ecosystem services, help to understand the relationship between trees and human populations, and the operation and management of agroforestry still alive and practiced in our day modes.

img-presentation-02

Axes and themes of this call for papers for the 5th International Symposium on Juniper thuriferous are:

Theme 1 : Biodiversity and ecosystems of thuriferous Juniper and other Mediterranean Cupressaceae, richness and threats (climate change, overgrazing, pest ….)

Theme 2 : Ecology, Structure and Functioning of the Mediterranean population’s Junipers

Theme 3 : Status and conservation status (technical tools, regeneration conditions, contributions of biotechnology …)

Theme 4 : Uses and local knowledge, Place of the tree in the local and traditional production systems

Theme 5 : various ecosystemics services, Agroforestry and Managment

The 5th International Symposium on thuriferous Juniper will be held at the Faculty of Sciences Semlalia Marrakesh, from April 30 to 4 May 2014. It is a space for exchange and sharing of experience and research findings at national and international levels, in relation with these particular ecosystems of the Mediterranean world.

Présentation générale

Le colloque international sur le genévrier thurifère est à sa cinquième édition, prévue à Marrakech en 2014, après ceux de Marignac (France, 1997), Marrakech (Maroc, 2001), Soria (Espagne, 2006) et Mont-Dauphin et Saint-Crépin (France, 2011). La tenue régulière de ce colloque mobilise à chaque fois une communauté de chercheurs et d’experts internationaux dévoués à cette essence forestière endémique de la partie occidentale du bassin méditerranéen. Les aspects abordés se rapportaient généralement à son écologie, sa gestion et les perspectives de sa conservation et de sa valorisation durable.

img-presentation

Si cette espèce relique, montre une vive dynamique au point de vue de sa régénération naturelle et de sa croissance en Espagne et en France, ce n’est point le cas au Maroc et en Algérie où elle est considérée comme une espèce menacée, vulnérable, en régression et pouvant devenir rare à court terme.

Pour cette cinquième édition du colloque international sur le Genévrier thurifère, le Laboratoire Ecologie et Environnement (L2E) de la Faculté des Sciences Semlalia de Marrakech (Université Cadi Ayyad), s’associe avec le Laboratoire Ecologie et Environnement (L2E) de la Faculté des Sciences Ben Msik (Université Hassan II, Mohammedia – Casablanca), et la Direction régionale des Eaux et Forêts et la lutte contre la désertification du Haut Atlas à Marrakech (Haut Commissariat des Eaux et Forêts et la lutte contre la désertification (HCEFLD). Le comité d’organisation propose de développer ainsi des thématiques portant sur le Genévrier thurifère et les autres cupressacées méditerranéennes. Pour cette édition, outre les axes traditionnels développés autour de l’écologie et la biodiversité, le fonctionnement écophysiologique et dynamique des peuplements de genévriers, une attention particulière sera réservée aux aspects d’usages et des services écosystémiques des peuplements de genévriers méditerranéens, ainsi que la présence de plusieurs espèces menacées dans les écosystèmes de cupressacées, nécessitant des mesures de conservation particulières et adaptées.

Les Cupressacées méditerranéennes sont réputées par leurs formidables adaptations aux conditions écologiques des fois extrêmes, caractérisées par des péjorations d’ordre climatiques et édaphiques. Il est important de voir l’état des connaissances sur ces différents aspects, aboutissant à une grande diversité des habitats. Les Cupressacées forment ainsi, seules ou en association avec d’autres essences méditerranéennes classiques, des peuplements et des structures pré-forestières à pré-steppiques, voire même des structures steppiques arborées. Elles couvrent également de grandes surfaces depuis le bord de mer sur le littoral aux très hautes altitudes dans les Atlas de l’Afrique du Nord.

Les Cupressacées se façonnent très bien, l’Homme en a fait des espèces et des espaces, dédiés à la production de biens et services déterminant dans son existence, surtout dans les zones de montagnes (bois d’œuvre et de feu, fourrage des animaux d’élevage,…). La diversité des usages et des services écosystémiques, permettra ainsi de comprendre cette relation entre les arbres et les populations humaines, et les modes d’exploitation et de gestion agroforestiers encore vivants et pratiqués à nos jours.

img-presentation-02

Les axes et thématiques de cet appel à communication du 5ème colloque international sur le Genévrier thurifère sont :

Thème 1 : Biodiversité des écosystèmes à Genévrier thurifère et autre Cupressacées méditerranéennes, Richesses et Menaces (Changements climatiques, surpâturage, ravageurs,….)

Thème 2 : Ecologie, Structures et Fonctionnement des peuplements à Genévriers méditerranéens

Thème 3 : Etat et statut de conservation (Outils techniques, conditions de régénération, apports des biotechnologies…)

Thème 4 : Usages et savoirs locaux, Place de l’arbre dans les systèmes productifs locaux et traditionnels

Thème 5 : Services écosystémiques divers, Agroforesterie et Aménagement

Le 5ème Colloque International sur le Genévrier thurifère sera organisé à la faculté des Sciences Semlalia de Marrakech, du 30 Avril au 4 Mai 2014. Il s’agit d’un espace d’échange et de partage d’expérience et des résultats des recherches, aux niveaux national et international, relatifs à ces écosystèmes particuliers du monde méditerranéen.